Select Page

State Land Trusts Advisory Board

Do you need some help?

The quickest way to reach us is to contact us through the contact form on the website.

310 Old Santa Fe Trail,
Santa Fe NM 87501


State Land Trusts Advisory Board

The Land Trusts Advisory Board assists the State Land Commissioner in the formulation of policies and programs for the trust. By law, the Board is politically and geographically diverse. It represents the trust’s beneficiaries and key constituencies.

Two members represent the beneficiary institutions and one each representing agriculture, extractive industries, and conservation interests.

Two members serve at large. The members are appointed by the State Land Commissioner and confirmed by the State Senate to serve six-year terms.

Below are short biographical profiles of the current members of the State Land Trusts Advisory Board.


Samuel T. Smallidge, who represents State Land Trust Beneficiaries, serves as the Wildlife Specialist for the Cooperative Extension Service at New Mexico State University (NMSU).


Anthony Casados represents the Trust Beneficiaries, which include public schools, New Mexico Military Institute, New Mexico School for the Blind and Visually Impaired, New Mexico School for the Deaf, and seven universities, among others.


Patricia L. Quintana, Taos native and lifelong advocate for conservation and agricultural issues, was appointed to the State Land Office’s State Lands Trust Advisory Board in early 2017. She was elected to serve as Board President in August of 2019.

Extractive Industry

Mark Veteto, Hobbs oilman and community leader, Mark Veteto was appointed to the State Land Office’s State Lands Trust Advisory Board representing Extractive Industry.

General Public

Royce Maples, State Trust Lands Advisory Board Member Pancho Maples represents the general public.

General Public

Randal Rabon, was appointed to represent the general public.

Conservation Interests

Mountainair conservationist Dierdre “Dee” Tarr was appointed to the State Lands Trust Advisory Board in early 2018 to represent conservation interests. She was sponsored by Sen. Elizabeth “Liz” Stefanics.

State Land Trusts Advisory Board Meeting

The New Mexico State Land Trusts Advisory Board will hold a public meeting on Tuesday, November 30, 2021, at 10:00 a.m., and continuing thereafter as necessary, via audio and video conference due to the COVID-19 public health emergency.  Any change to the location or time of the meeting will be posted with a final agenda on the SLO web page at least 72 hours prior to the date and time specified.

Learn more about how to join the November 30, 2021 virtual meeting, and view the agenda here. 

Join the mailing list

Sign up for updates